Sabotage your crash diet with a lovely slice of Red Velvet Cake by Cukay's. And some grilled liempo on the side. Hahaha.

My first Ensogo purchase was a small round red velvet cake from Cukay’s. The item featured can be had at a great deal of 50 percent off.

The first time I tasted this type of cake was through a promotional offer by a bakeshop chain. I wasn’t really dazzled with their creation which gave me the impression that red velvet cakes are so-so.

Red Velvet redeemed its consummate reputation when a cousin who manages and owns a resto in Serendra gave me a cupcake of the same variant (but from another specialty bakeshop) during a birthday dinner in 2009. It was moist and the cream cheese frosting was superb. This time, red velvet earned my thumbs-up.

After that my next date with red velvet happened just yesterday, when I finally got my order from Cukay’s. At first there was a misunderstanding on the part of Cukay’s regarding pick-up schedule but the contact person was very helpful. She rectified the situation immediately.

To cut a long story short, I finally got to taste the infamous Cukay’s Red Velvet cake. My kumare, who has a refined taste in food and fashion, really adores Cukay’s Red Velvet cakes and cupcakes. She never goes home from a trip to Eastwood Mall without purchasing one.

The first bite was pure ecstasy. It’s really to-die-for. Ang layo sa version of this huge bakeshop chain. For one, the sponge is heavy and thick, but not tough. It is also moist, sweetened just right and not crumbly. The cream cheese frosting is literally and figuratively the icing on the cake – it’s so rich and divine. If you find the frosting a tad sweet (like I do because I have low tolerance for sweetness now), pair it with a steaming cup of black coffee or any hot tea of your choice (I opted for green tea which has slimming properties daw. To assuage the guilt ba).

Who took the first slice on the sly? Not me. (chos)

This goes to say my kumare wasn’t exaggerating at all.

My husband was really happy with my purchase (and it was his birthday when I got to claim it). And so am I. Even if sira na naman diet ko.

I’m posting its multiply URL below because it’s somwhat difficult to google it.

http://cakesbycukay.multiply.com/photos

P.S. I’m now thinking of hiding the box from the hubby. Mukhang uubusan niya ako.

About Ira Martin

They say women marry men who look like their dad. Or at least, similar in attitude and values. My father is a (retired) professional banker who's very family-oriented. So is my husband.

Leave a Reply

