We usually watch blockbuster films on its second week of showing to avoid large movie crowds. No I’m not suffering from ochlophobia but I really hate crowded cinemas. I tend to catch colds or cough from it. 

But my husband was excited to catch the Avengers, mostly due to rave reviews from friends and Facebook mates who have already seen it. I’m also eager to watch it myself because I used to be a comic book reader. I used to read DC and Marvel comics so I’m familiar with many comic characters. The advantage of this is I can easily recognize the characters in the film. But the drawback is I tend to compare (and lament) if the flick version deviated from the comic version under cinematic license.

Like the Catwoman film starred by Halle Berry. I have nothing against Blacks but the original Selena Kyle is white and it should have stayed that way. Also, Selena was a prostitute who trained in martial arts to become a skilled cat burglar. She wasn’t an underdog employee who was betrayed and thrown out of the office window to fall into a pack of cats as told in the Batman movie with Michelle Pfeiffer as the Catwoman. 

The Avengers did not disappoint. I especially like the symbolic scene where Captain America saved a crowd of Germans from Loki’s onslaught. 

“You know, the last time I was in Germany and saw a man standing above everybody else, we ended up disagreeing.” – Steve Rogers aka Captain America

(Retrieved from: http://www.moviequotesandmore.com/the-avengers-quotes-1.html)

When Captain America first went to Germany, it was to save the world from the tyranny of a megalomaniac – Hitler, not Hydra. While it was Hydra who happened to be his real archenemy, it was Hitler who started the second World War. I don’t think he was referring to Hydra as the man standing above everybody else.

Another classic moment was when Loki arrogantly ordered Hulk to stop bullying him because he is God…

“I am a God! I am not going to be bullied by a…” – Loki

(Retrieved from:http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0848228/quotes)

…but the green monster ignored him and continued to pummel him like a house vermin. 

Puny God.” – Hulk

(Retrieved from:http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0848228/quotes)

So what made The Avengers a remarkable film? Well I personally think the casting was great. Save for Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner (sorry Mr. Ruffalo, the role still belongs to Eric Bana), everyone else fits their roles to a T. Robert Downey Jr. is the perfect Tony Stark. Hunky Chris Hemsworth gave justice to Thor and Chris Evans, although first known as Torch in The Fantastic Four, wasn’t bad as Captain America.

When they were auditioning for Captain America, I was really hoping John Krasinski would bag the role. I thought that Chris Evans would be typecasted as Torch but I was wrong. (By the way, The Fantastic Four can’t make a cameo on The Avengers because the actor playing Torch and Captain America is the same. Unless they get another one as Torch, that is. But it wouldn’t be the same, would it?) 

Also the lines were funny. Bordering on cheesy and campy, yes. But still funny. Especially Tony Stark’s dry wit. 

But the real attraction actually, is the yumminess of the heroes. I’m sure most girls would agree with me.

Dig those muscles and abs. Kulang na lang ay kanin!

About Ira Martin

They say women marry men who look like their dad. Or at least, similar in attitude and values. My father is a (retired) professional banker who's very family-oriented. So is my husband.

Leave a Reply

