I don’t know which came first – my love for TrueBlood or the Sookie Stackhouse novels. It has become a chicken and egg syndrome since it has eluded me whether I discovered the series or the book first. All I can remember is that both happened way back in 2009. 

Even if my husband doesn’t fancy either genre, he managed to surprise me (It was a sweet surprise for there was no occasion!) sometime in 2010 with Seasons 1 and 2 in DVD. But with my pregnancy (I slept all the time), MA classes,  writing deadlines and all, I was only able to watch two episodes.

A year after moving in to our new home, I rediscovered the DVDs. So I decided to catch up on missed eps  during spare time. I must say the people at HBO Asia (or MTRCB) have been very enthusiastic with their pair of scissors; you’ll notice it once you’ve viewed the  DVD version. 

I’m tempted to sweet-talk my hubby into buying me the latest seasons but I’ll just do that after I finish the first two seasons first.

One thing though. The problem with being familiar with the book version is that you can see the glaring differences between the source and the TV version. Top of mind deviations are:

(1) The minute role of Portia Bellefleur, Andy’s lawyer sister, in the HBO series. She has a much bigger presence in the book.

(2) Lafayette was killed in book 2 of the Snookie Stackhouse novels (he was found naked and dead in Andy Bellefleur’s car trunk) but has become an enduring (and major) character in the TV series. Based on the book’s description, I imagined him to be more…gay. That is, a cross-dresser bordering on being a tranny. In the TV version, he’s more of a butch. 

(3) Speaking of Andy Bellefleur, I also didn’t  imagine him to be so…bald. I thought of him to be younger-looking, like somewhere near Sam’s age.

In the book, Andy is a recovering alcoholic.

(4) Jessica did not appear in the book but Tara did. Only, she’s white, not African-American. In the book Tara is not as headstrong and feisty. She also has a minor role.  

If you love reading novels and watching TrueBlood, I recommend you also read the Southern Vampire Mysteries or Snookie Stackhouse novels of Charlaine Harris. It’s likewise addicting! Harris has perfectly melded drollery with sex. It’s so compellingly sensual you can almost bang the book. Compared to Southern Vampire Mysteries, the Twilight series is a grade-school literary piece. (no offense to Twihards.)

Sookie Stackhouse novel by Charlaine HarriesRetrieved from:http://hmorba.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/deaduntildarksouthernvamp17948_f.jpg 

About Ira Martin

They say women marry men who look like their dad. Or at least, similar in attitude and values. My father is a (retired) professional banker who's very family-oriented. So is my husband.

Leave a Reply

